top of page

Rooibos, Plum & Apple Compote

I had a punnet of plums that all needed eating at the same time. The best way to use up fruits that are at risk of going overripe, I think is to freeze them or make them into a compote.

Compote is a lovely addition for breakfasts. Swirl it through an overnight oats or top a bowl of porridge with a spoonful. I like to keep it quite tart which is a delicious contrast to a sweet banana porridge.

Rooibos has a soft, refreshing flavour. I thought that instead of using water, I should introduce extra flavour by using tea. I think rooibos pairs nicely with the tart plums and sweet apple.




Ingredients


1 well brewed cup of rooibos tea

6-8 ripe plums

1 red apple

1-2 tsp grated ginger


step2

Put all of the ingredients into a saucepan and bring to the boil.


step2

Reduce the temperature to the lowest heat and simmer for 20 minutes or so. The fruit should have softened and the sauce thickened.


Notes

- Use a relatively sweet apple such as royal gala. This brings natural sweetness which helps to avoid adding additional sugar.


- I’d recommend doing 1 tsp of ginger and tasting before adding further is you prefer a stringer kick.


- Add more tea if necessary and use your judgement of exactly the consistency you would like.

bottom of page